The Expanse

Leviathan Wakes (The Expanse #1) By James S.A. Corey

Title: Leviathan Wakes

Author: James S.A. Corey

Page count: 577 pages

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

James S.A. Corey delivers compelling SF that ranks with the best in the field. In Leviathan Wakes, ice miner Jim Holden is making a haul from the rings of Saturn when he and his crew encounter an abandoned ship, the Scopuli. Uncovering a terrifying secret, Jim bears the weight of impending catastrophe. At the same time, a detective has been hired by well-heeled parents to find a missing girl, and the investigator’s search leads him right to the Scopuli. Goodreads blurb
So I was introduced to this series through the TV show, which I may have binge watched in one week. The book was definitely better than the screen adaptation, but I’m still looking forward to season 4. To start, James Holden is a huge Hufflepuff and must be protected at all costs. The book portrays him as being naïve, but that just means there’s room for character growth. Spoilers: I’m expecting Miller’s death to have a huge impact on him. His relationship with Naomi was one of my favorite things about the book. I applaud her for calling him out as being a hopeless romantic and turning him down at first. Even though I knew it was coming, I still wasn’t ready for his sacrificial play. I’m excited to see/learn more of Julie as why her parents had Miller looking for her. Meanwhile, RIP Venus. There are a 8 books in this series, so I’m probably not going to finish it for awhile. I want to be at least caught up with the series before season 4 premieres. In the meantime, I can’t wait for Bobbi’s POV because she’s my favorite character in the TV series.

Leave a comment